robt7Musical Director: Robert Baxter

Robert Baxter has conducted the band since 2000. He began his musical career playing trumpet in local bands including DCB and the National Youth Orchestra of Scotland. Since graduating from the RSAMD in 1988, he has worked with all of the professional orchestras in Scotland, including the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra, the RSNO, and the orchestra of Scottish Ballet. He has also played with the New London Consort, the Goldberg Ensemble, the Tenerife Symphony Orchestra and the Singapore Orchestra. Robert works regularly with NYOS and the West of Scotland Schools Orchestra and is also conductor of the Helensburgh Orchestral Society and Dunbartonshire Wind Ensemble.


michelle-mccabeAssociate Conductor:  Michelle McCabe

Michelle McCabe studied at the RCS, graduating with BA(Hons)and a PG(Orchestral Performance) then went on to study Chamber Music at the Banff Centre for the Arts in Canada with her award winning Quartet, Just Flutes. Since 2004 Michelle has played Sub-Principal Flute with the Scottish Ballet Orchestra, as well as working with other professional orchestras and chamber ensembles, including the RSNO, Scottish Opera, BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra, Auricle Ensemble and the Scottish Flute Trio. Michelle coaches the National Youth Wind Ensemble of Scotland and West of Scotland Independent Schools Orchestra. She was appointed DCB Associate Conductor in 2015.



Honorary President: Glyn Bragg


The Committee

Monika Mihm-Carmichael (chair)
Andrew McCafferty (vice-chair)
Fiona Ross (treasurer)
Jan Winder (secretary)
Jane Ireland (librarian)
Harriet Fishley (librarian)
Bob Kennedy
Cameron McCulloch
Kerry Shaw
George Gourlay
Robert Baxter (MD ex officio)


The Band


Piccolo/Flute: Karen Clayton
Flute: David Brown, Carrie Dixon, Anne Dunbar, Joan Gemmel, Morven McCulloch, Louise Muir, Sue Scordia, Emma Thorpe
Oboe: Alison McCree, Michele Newall
Cor Anglais/Oboe: Alan Cooper
E Flat Clarinet: Laura Hunter
Clarinet: Rennie Clark, Moyra Hawthorn, Brian Lees, Fiona McLean, Monika Mihm Carmichael, Michele Muir, Sula O’Duffy, Ruth Sinclair, Fraser Thomson, Jan Winder
Alto Clarinet: David Broad
Bass Clarinet: Harriet Fishley, Cameron McCulloch
Bassoon: Lorraine Sherry, Jonathan Smithers
Soprano/Alto Saxophone: Jacqui McMahon
Alto Saxophone: Orane Frachisse, Sharon McKay, Kerry Shaw
Tenor Saxophone: Alison Beattie, Jane Ireland, Andy McGeoch, Sharon Singer
Baritone Saxophone: Bob Kennedy
Horn: Neil Harper, Murdo McCreadie, Steven Millar, Ella Ogilvy, Fiona Ross, Colin Suckling
Trumpet/Cornet: Amy Cutler, George Gourley, Andrew McCafferty, Megan Monkhouse, Euan Scott
Trombone: Anneli Demberg, Hazel Ferguson, Phil Hair, Andrew MacDonald, Caitlin O’Donnell, Aaron Weidmann
Euphonium: Andy Ritson, David Welsh
Tuba: Liam McKeown, Douglas Scott
Bass Guitar: Julian Fosh
Percussion: Heather Brown, Paul Gavienas, Alan Hunter, Alex Logan, David MacDonald, Scott Vassie

Honorary Life Members: Arthur Main


Design: Kerry Shaw
Website photos: Rob Cunningham, Elaine Ellen, Michael Andrew & band members
Technical wizardry: Alan Cooper, Ben Cooper

Making Music Rep: Monika Mihm Carmichael
DCB Trustees: Jill Bolling, Alan Cooper, Colin Suckling, John Waller, David Welsh